Thank you!

Talivest - the easiest way to develop employee relationships that last

Corporate Alumni and Offboarding Best Practices


As we’ve discussed in our previous articles about creating an offboarding strategy it all starts with data. If you don’t have anonymous feedback on why employees leave you’re likely to be guessing at the solutions rather than addressing actual employee concerns.

corporate alumni and offboarding best practices

Show Your (Collective) Intent

If you’re following offboarding best practices you’ll be showing two things to departing employees. First, you’re letting them know you’re interested in any opportunity to improve. Second, you’re opening a conversation about continuing the conversation. Maybe that particular employee will come back someday or perhaps they’ll refer someone who could work for you in the future, but neither outcome is likely if you haven’t opened the door.

Follow Up

Gathering data and starting a conversation about future collaboration will only bear fruit if your HR team actually stays in touch. You can do this in more than one way. First, let them know when you’re making internal changes that are based on employee feedback. Let’s say you’re adding a perk like flex time. Let your network know about that, not just the current team.

Second, let your corporate alumni network know when you’re hiring. You don’t have to actively solicit referrals, but if more people know you’re hiring it’s more likely that you’ll see some boomerang or referral interest.

Hopefully our infographic has helped along your journey to following offboarding best practices. If you haven’t already, download the full infographic and if you’d like to learn more about employee retention or how to implement a new offboarding plan, join our Offboarding Bootcamp coming up soon!

  • 1
    Share
Find similar posts in Employee Retention
Find similar posts in Offboarding Strategy
Web by Doodle

Privacy Preference Center

Close your account?

Your account will be closed and all data will be permanently deleted and cannot be recovered. Are you sure?